Swachh Bharat Survey targets 75 cities

Staff Reporter, New Delhi
30/10/2015   0 Comments

The  Ministry of Urban Development has commissioned a survey of sanitation scenario in 75 major cities including 53 with a population of above 10 lakhs each and state capitals, Bureaucracy Today has learnt. 
 This is the first such survey since the launch of Swachh Bharat Mission in October, 2014. The survey parameters have been aligned with the objectives of Swachh Bharat Mission with more focus on solid waste management which is adversely impacting cleanliness in urban areas, as per the direction of Minister of Urban Development  M.Venkaiah Naidu.  
The proposed survey and subsequent ratings to be completed in January next year is aimed at fostering a spirit of competition among the major cities and state capitals in 29 states and Chandigarh to ensure sanitation in urban areas.
In the last survey for ranking of 476 cities with a population of above one lakh each which was commissioned before the launch of Swachh Bharat Mission across the country, solid waste management had a weightage of only 13%.
Swachh Bharat Mission is aimed at ensuring door-to-door collection, transportation and scientific disposal of municipal solid waste in all the 83,000 wards in urban areas by 2019 besides construction of one crore household individual toilets and over five lakh public and community toilet seats.
Municipal Commissioners and other concerned officials of all the 75 selected cities were yesterday briefed in detail by Pravin Prakash, Joint Secretary and Mission Director of Swachh Bharat Missionabout the objectives and evaluation parameters of the sanitation survey.
75 cities to be rated under the Swachh Bharat Sanitation Survey are :
1.Andhra Pradesh(2) : Visakhapatnam and Vijayawada
2.Arunachal Pradesh (1): Itanagar
3.Assam (1) : Guwahaty
4.Bihar (1): Patna
6.Chattisgarh (2): Raipur and Durg
7.Delhi (4): NDMC, North, South and East Delhi Municipal Corporations
8.Gujarat (5): Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, Vadodara, Rajkot and  Surat
9.Goa (1): Panaji
10.Haryana (2): Gurgaon and Faridabad
11.Himachal Pradesh (1): Shimla
12. Jammu & Kashmir (1): Srinagar
13.Jharkhand (3): Ranchi, Jamshedpur and Dhanbad
14.Karnataka (3): Bengaluru, Mysore and Hubli-Dharwad city
15. Kerala (3): Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Kozhikode
16. Madhya Pradesh (4): Bhopal, Indore, Gwalior and Jabalpur
17. Maharashtra (10): Navi Mumbai, Greater Mumbai, kalyan-Dambivali, Pune, Pimpri-Chindwad, Nashik, Aurangabad, Nagpur, Thane and Vasai-Virar
18.Manipur (1) : Imphal
19.Meghalaya (1): Shillong
20.Mizoram (1): Aizawl
21. Nagaland (1): Kohima
22.Odisha (2): Bhubaneswar and Cuttack
23.Punjab (2): Amritsar and Ludhiana
24. Rajasthan (3): Jaipur, Jodhpur and Kota
25.Sikkim (1): Gangtok
26.Tamil Nadu (4): Chennai, Coiambattore, Madurai and Tiruchirapalli
27. Telangana (2): Hyderabad and Warangal
28. Uttar Pradesh (8): Lucknow, Kanpur, Varanasi, Allahabad, Meerut, Ghaziabad, NOIDA and Agra
29. Uttarakhand (1): Dehradun
30. West Bengal (3): Kolkata and Asansol-Durgapur.


Sign in with
Or procced without registration