UP bypolls: RLD leading in Kairana LS seat, SP in Noorpur assembly seat

PTI/Agencies, New Delhi
31/05/2018   0 Comments

The opposition's joint candidate, Rashtriya Lok Dal's Tabassum Hasan, took a lead of over 37,000 votes in the Kairana Lok Sabha by-election in Uttar Pradesh after the 11th round of counting, officials said. In the Noorpur assembly by-election in the state, Samajwadi Party's Naeemul Hasan was leading by over 3,000 votes after 17 round of counting, they said.

After 11 rounds of counting, Hasan polled 2,31,965 votes while her nearest rival, BJP's Mriganka Singh, got 1,94,875 votes, the election office here said. The Kairana seat had fallen vacant following the death of Mriganka Singh's father, BJP MP Hukum Singh.

Hasan is also supported by the Congress, Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party. Counting of votes for the Kairana Lok Sabha and Noorpur Assembly by-elections began this morning amid tight security arrangements. Polling for the high-stakes by-elections to the two constituencies was held on Monday.


Sign in with
Or procced without registration