Call Us: +91-11-23073004, 23073042 | Mail:


SPMCIL to mint commemorative coins

Staff reporter, New Delhi
14/09/2017   0 Comments

Miniratna PSU, Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL), will mint commemorative coins of Rs 100 and Rs 10 denomination which will be released on the eve of Birth Centenary of Dr MS Subbulakshmi on September 15. 
The SPMCIL will also mint commemorative coins of denominations Rs 100 and Rs 5 which have been announced on the occasion of birth centenary of Dr MG Ramachandran on January 17 earlier this year.
Subbulakshmi was a Carnatic vocalist. She was the first musician ever to be awarded the Bharat Ratna. She is also the first Indian musician to receive the Ramon Magsaysay award, often considered as Asia’s Noble Prize, in 1974.  
Ramachandran was an actor, director, producer and politician who worked primarily in Tamil films and also served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu successively for three terms. In 1988, he was awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously. 


Sign in with
Or procced without registration