Rajasthan elections: 20 percent voter turnout in first three hours of polling

PTI/Agencies, New Delhi
07/12/2018   0 Comments

In the first three hours of voting on Friday in Rajasthan, over 4.74 crore voters used more than 200 million voters, voting on Friday during EVM report of some polling booths. The polling officials said that the polling started at 8 o'clock and the polling was 20.9 percent at 11 am. There was some EVM report which was not working, which was delaying voting in some polling booths. However, waiting for further details.

Of the total 200 assembly constituencies, 51,687 polling stations have been set up in 199 where voting is being held between strict security. A senior police officer said that the polling was going on peacefully and detailed security arrangements were being made. Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, PCC president Sachin Pilot and other leaders were among those who used their franchisees. Raje (Jhalpattan), Pilot (Tonk), former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot (Sardarpura) is among the 2,274 candidates in the field.

After the death of Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Laxman Singh, the elections were closed in the Ramgarh constituency of Alwar district. The results will be on December 11, as well as in the assembly elections in the last four weeks along with those people from other four states. BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate Raje is fighting against Jaswant Singh's son Manvendra Singh in Jharkhand, which he represented since 2003. Manendra Singh went to the Congress just before the election, this time the battle for Raje became difficult. He had won 63 percent of the votes in 2013, winning the seat by 60,896 votes. With a large Muslim population, Tonk, Sachin Pilot and BJP candidate and Rajasthan Transport Minister Yunus Khan are an eagerly contested contest, which is the only Muslim face of the saffron party in the elections.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) initially introduced Ajit Singh Mehta, the present MLA in Tonk. But in the change of strategy, the party left him and sent Khan to take the pilot. This is the first assembly election for the pilot, which is a two-time MP, who is seen as the chief minister's post when winning the Congress. He has represented Dausa and Ajmer Lok Sabha constituencies in the past. In about 130 constituencies, competition is mainly between BJP and Congress. In the current house, BJP has 160 seats and Congress 25.


Sign in with
Or procced without registration