Call Us: +91-11-23073004, 23073042 | Mail:


Prasoon Joshi is new CBFC chief

Staff reporter, New Delhi
12/08/2017   0 Comments

Noted Bollywood lyricist-screenwriter and ad guru Prasoon Joshi has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification.
He replaced Pahlaj Nihalani who was removed from the post on Friday.
A Government notification issued on Friday evening read: “In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 3 of the Cinematograph Act, 1952 (37 of 1952) read with rule 3 of the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983, the Central Government is pleased to appoint Sh. Prasoon Joshi as Chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification in an honorary capacity from 11th August 2017 for a period of three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier. The Notification supersedes the earlier notification F No. M-11020/1/2014-DO (FC) dated 19th January 2015.”

Joining Prasoon Joshi on the Censor Board will be Vidya Balan, Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra, Neil Herbert, Vivek Agnihotri, TS Nagabharana, Ramesh Patange, Vani Tripathi, Jeevitha Rajasekhar and Mihir Bhuta among others.


Sign in with
Or procced without registration