Call Us: +91-11-23073004, 23073042 | Mail:


The Big Fight: Kovind Vs Meira

By BT Bureau, New Delhi
17/07/2017   0 Comments

India is all set to get its new President with the elected MLAs and MPs today casting their ballot, which will decide the fate of BJP-led NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar, a former Lok Sabha Speaker and the opposition’s nominee.
The voting began at 10:00 PM and it will conclude at 5 PM. 
A total of 4,896 voters — 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs — are eligible to cast their ballot. Since the election is through a secret ballot, the parties cannot issue a whip to their members to vote for a particular candidate. A total of 32 polling stations — one in Parliament House and one each in the state legislative Assemblies — have been set up.
The counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi after all the ballot boxes have been brought from various state capitals. Incumbent Pranab Mukherjee’s term comes to an end on July 24.
A total of 95 candidates had filed nominations for the top Constitutional post. However, 93 of them were rejected on various grounds, leaving only Kovind and Meira Kumar in the fray. 


Sign in with
Or procced without registration