Call Us: +91-11-23073004, 23073042 | Mail:


8 tribunals set up to settle river disputes

Staff reporter, New Delhi
11/08/2017   0 Comments

On the complaint made by the State Governments, the Central Government has, so far, set up eight tribunals to settle water disputes among the States under the Inter-State River Water Disputes (ISRWD) Act, 1956.
The mechanism for settlement of water disputes is already available in the form of ISRWD Act, 1956. The ISRWD Act, 1956 was last amended in 2002 whereby adjudication of the water disputes by tribunals has been made time bound. Further, Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation adopted a revised National Water Policy (NWP) in 2012. As per Clause 12.2 of the Policy, a permanent Water Disputes Tribunal at the Centre should be established to resolve the disputes expeditiously in an equitable manner. In this regard, a Bill has been introduced in Lok Sabha on 14.03.2017 to amend the existing ISRWD Act, 1956. The Bill has further been referred to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Water Resources by the Hon'ble Speaker vide order dated 14.03.2017 for examination. In this regard, three meetings of the Committee have been held on 16.06.2017, 30.06.2017 and 10.07.2017.
No high level committee has been constituted under the Chairmanship of former Planning Commission Member dealing with the subject of Inter-State River Water Sharing Disputes. However, a committee was constituted under the Chairmanship of Dr Mihir Shah, former member, erstwhile Planning Commission to deal with the subject of restructuring of CWC and CGWB. The Committee has submitted its report in July 2016.
This information was given by Union Minister of State for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Dr Sanjeev Kumar Balyan in a written reply in Lok Sabha on Thursday.


Sign in with
Or procced without registration